Board of Directors

The Civil Engineering Institute Board of Directors meets regularly to conduct its business, to interact with CEIE, and to report on committee activity.  CEI members who are not members of the Board of Directors may attend Board meetings.  Minutes of the Board meetings are distributed to all CEI members.

In 2017-2018, the Board is scheduled to meet on the following dates:

  • October 4, 2017 CEI Appreciation Membership Meeting from 5:30pm to 6:30pm at WGL Energy Headquarters (8814 Westwood Center Dr., Suite 1200, Vienna, VA 22182)
  • November 2, 2017 (TBD) from 4pm to 6pm all-VSE-advisory-groups meeting at the Country Club of Fairfax (5110 Ox Road, Fairfax)
  • December 6, 2017 from 3pm to 5:30pm in ENGR1602 in the Nguyen Engineering Building
  • February 7, 2018 from 3pm to 5:30pm in ENGR 1602 in the Nguyen Engineering Building
  • March 22, 2018 CEI Annual Meeting and Luncheon 11:30am to 1:30 pm in Dewberry Hall in the Johnson Center
  • May 2, 2018 from 3pm to 5:30pm in ENGR1602 in the Nguyen Engineering Building
  • June 6, 2018 from 3pm to 5:30pm in ENGR1602 in the Nguyen Engineering Building

Directors are elected by the Civil Engineering Institute membership, and serve three-year staggered terms. The current Directors are listed below. The Board elects its officers from among its ranks. Mr. S. Rich Benton, P.E., serves as CEI chairman, Mr. Kurt Thompson, P.E., serves as CEI vice-chairman, and Mr. Brian Chromey serves as the appointed CEI Treasurer.  Directors also serve on committees on an as-needed basis.  Dr. Liza Wilson Durant, chairman of the CEIE department, serves as CEI’s executive director.

CEI Annual Award luncheon, at Dewberry Hall, Johnson Center, GMU, Fairfax, VA Wednesday, April 20, 2016. John Boal Photography

Term Expiring December 2016

Mr. Ryan Anderson, P.E. — The Christman Company
Mr. Erik Spencer, christopher consultants, Ltd.
Dr. Cerasela Cristei, P.E. — Applied Engineering Management
Mr. David Laib — Balfour Beatty Construction
Mr. Hardeep S. Rana, P.E. — Washington Gas
Mr. Harold L Rodriguez, P.E.
Ms. Terry Suehr, P.E. — Atkins

Term Expiring December 2017

Mr. Brian Chromey, P.E. — Wetland Studies and Solutions, Inc.
Mr. Christopher R. Conklin, P.E. — VHB
Mr. William G. Fry, P.E.
Mr. Peter Rigby, P.E.
Mr. Kurt Thompson, P.E. — Dewberry

Term Expiring December 2018

Mr. S. Richard Benton, P.E., F. ASCE, DBIA – SR Benton & Associates, LLC
Ms. Jamie Bain Hedges, P.E. — Fairfax Water
Mr. Helman Castro, P.E. – Fairfax County
Mr. Michael E. Post — Shirley Contracting Company, LLC
Mr. Christopher Reseigh, P.E.
Mr. Greg Stavrou, P.E. – Pennoni Associates, Inc.
Mr.Joseph R. Vilseck, III, P.E.

Emeritus Members

Dr. Michael S. Bronzini, P.E.
Mr. Charlie C. Crowder, Jr.
Mr. Sidney 0. Dewberry,P.E., L.S.
Mr. H. S. Hulme, Jr., P.E.

CEI Executive Director

Dr. Liza Wilson Durant

CEIE Faculty Ex Officio

Dr. Anthony Battistini
Dr. Celso Ferreira
Dr. Deborah Goodings, P.Eng.
Dr. Mark Houck, P.E.
Dr. Laura Kosoglu
Dr. David Lattanzi, P.E.
Dr. Viviana Maggioni
Dr. Burak Tanyu
Dr. Girum Urgessa, P.E.
Dr. Mohan Venigalla, P.E.
Dr. Shanjiang Zhu