Annual Luncheon and Awards

Award acceptance

From left to right: Rich Benton, 2016 annual luncheon award winner Dr. Wayne Clough, Dr. Liza Durant

Engineering Excellence and Leadership Award

In recognition of Exceptional Leadership, Outstanding Lifetime Achievement, and Significant Contribution to the Profession of Civil Engineering.

2022 Engineering Excellence and Leadership Awardee

To be announced.

Past Winners

2006 - Lieutenant General Carl Strock, Chief of Engineers, US Army (Ret.)

2007 - Dr. Patricia D. Galloway, President of ASCE (Ret.)

2008 - Hon. Thomas Rust, Virginia Delegate and Chairman of Patton, Harris, Rust, and Associates

2009 - Mr. Sidney O. Dewberry, Founder, and Chairman of the Dewberry Companies

2010 - Lieutenant General Henry J. Hatch, Chief of Engineers, US Army, (Ret.)

2011 - Dr. Joseph Hartman, Bridge and Tunnel Team Leader, Federal Highway Administration

2012 - Mr. Milton V. Peterson, Founder, and Chairman of The Peterson Companies

2013 - Sean T. Connaughton, Secretary of Transportation for the Commonwealth of Virginia

2014 - Mr. John T. (Til) Hazel, Jr., Reed Smith Hazel & Thomas (Ret.)

2015 - Mr. Bob Chase, Northern Virginia Transportation Alliance

2016 - Dr. Wayne Clough, P.E., HON.M.ASCE., N.A.E, Secretary Emeritus, The Smithsonian Institution

2017 - Stephen T. Ayers, AFIA, CCM, LEED AP, the Architect of the Capitol

2018 - Dr. Gerald E. Galloway, PE, Glenn L. Martin Institute Professor of Engineering, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Maryland, and Faculty Fellow of the Hagler Institute for Advanced Study Texas A&M University.

2019 - James Patteson, P.E., Manager, Countywide Strategic Planning at Fairfax County Government

2020 - Paul Weidefeld, P.E., General Manager and CEO, Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority